Brisbane Heat BBL Champion 2024 beat Sixers in the Final


Brisbane Heat has been crowned as the champions of KFC Big Bash League 2023–24 as they beat Sydney Sixers by 54 runs in the most important BBL Final. In this way, the Heat ended its 11-year drought of winning the BBL championship in front of the Sydney fans in a dominant style. The Sixers bowled quite impressively in the final but it was their batting that led them down.

The Final was scheduled to be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground and almost 43,000 spectators attended the BBL Final. Brisbane Heat defended a total of 166 to claim their second BBL title. Spencer Johnson ripped through the Sydney Sixers batting lineup and match-winning performance for the team.

Brisbane Heat BBL Champion 2024 beat Sixers in the Final

BBL Final Match Summary:

Here is a quick overview of how the KFC Big Bash League 2023-24 unfolded as Heat became the BBL Champion 2024.

Brisbane Heat 166/8 (20 Overs)

Josh Brown 53 (38)

Sean Abbott 4/32 (4 overs)

Matt Renshaw 40 (22)

Steve O'Keefe 1/26 (4 overs)

Sydney Sixers 112/10 (17.3 Overs)

Moises Henriques 25 (27)

Spencer Johnson 4/26 (4 overs)

Josh Philippe 23 (22)

Mitchell Swepson 2/19 (3 overs)

Brisbane Heat won the match by 54 Runs

Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground

Attendance: 43,153

Brisbane Heat BBL Champion 2024 beat Sixers in the Final

KFC Big Bash League 2023-24 Final Match Report:

In the match after winning four games in a row, the Sixers were expected to do well in the BBl final. They chose to bowl first, even though they are usually good at defending on the slow SCG surface. However, batting was tough due to cloudy and humid conditions, and that limited the Heat to just 16 runs in the powerplay.

Seamer Sean Abbott, who is part of Australia's white-ball squads, bowled well, swinging the ball late and getting opener Jimmy Peirson out in the first over. The focus was on Josh Brown, who made headlines with his incredible 140 off 57 balls in the last game. 

Josh Brown like in the Challenger match of the KFC Big Bash League, delivered once again for the Heat in the Finals scoring a quick-fire fifty and setting up a difficult total for the chase.

He struggled initially but picked up the pace, surviving a tough chance. Brown, along with skipper Nathan McSweeney, took advantage of some loose bowling by the Sixers, with Brown reaching his fifty with a beautiful cover drive.

However, the Sixers fought back, with Ben Dwarshuis and Steve O'Keefe taking crucial wickets. Despite Brown's dismissal, the Heat finished strongly, thanks to Max Bryant and Matt Renshaw's power hitting.

In response, the Sixers faced early setbacks, losing Daniel Hughes and Jack Edwards in the powerplay. Despite a positive Covid-19 test earlier in the week, skipper Moises Henriques tried to revive the innings. Still, his quick dismissal in the power surge dashed any hopes of a comeback. 

The Heat's Mitchell Swepson then bowled a brilliant leg break to dismiss Jordan Silk, sealing the Heat as BBL Champion 2024. This win was especially sweet for them, as it erased the memories of their last year's final defeat.

Top Performers for the Brisbane Heat in BBL Season 13

Top Scorer

Josh Brown (366 Runs)

Top Wicket Taker

Xavier Bartlett (20 Wickets)

MVP in the Final

Josh Brown (53 runs off 38 balls)

Man of the Match in the Final

Spenser Johnson 4/26 (4 Overs) 

Golden Arm Award Winner

Xavier Bartlett (20 Wickets)

Post-Match Media Talks of Captains and Man of the Match:

Nathan McSweeney, Brisbane Heat captain: 

"Fantastic feeling. This is what you played for.", Nathan McSweeney said.

"Congratulations to the Sixers, who have been an excellent side forever. Well done to Steve O'Keefe. Thanks to Colin Munro, Usman, Marnus, and Billings who aren't here with us. Congrats to CA on the successful tournament and the Sydney crowd."

Daniel Hughes, Sydney Sixers vice-captain: 

"Unfortunately, the skipper isn't up here tonight but it's up to me. Thanks to our sponsors firstly, thanks to our members and fans. We love your support.", Daniel Hughes said.

"And to the Heat boys, well done. Congrats on another good year. To my teammates, another awesome year. Couldn't get over the line tonight. To SOK, wonderful year. Round of applause for Sokky. Wonderful teammate and person. You've left the team in a better place."

Spencer Johnson, POTM for his 4 for 26: 

"This is pretty special to be in this position again. We wanted to make amends after last year and here we are. Credit the Sixers, they've been awesome all year. It's taken an awesome performance to get over. To Brisbane Heat, you've changed my life. Thank you for everything.", said Spencer Johnson.

Home Ground & Fans Support For Heat BBL Champion 2024:

The Gabba proved so lucky for the BBL Champion 2024, Brisbane Heat as their fans turned up in numbers for their team’s support.

Despite their marquee players like Usman Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne missing out due to their national duty against West Indies, the remaining players got their back from die-hard Heat fans.

Even the BBL final was at Syndey Sixers' home ground, but Heat Fans came in numbers to see their home team lifting the Title for the second time in the history of the KFC Big Bash league.