All Eyes on 2023 Cricket World Cup, Cricket Fever Rising!


Cricket is the second biggest sport on earth just after Football. However, its popularity is growing worldwide European and American countries are also promoting this sport in their respective continent.

The biggest event in the cricketing world is the ODI World Cup which is going to happen in India starting in October. This 2023 Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of this global event.

ICC announced the schedule and venues for the matches of all the teams participating in this tournament.

However, this schedule was modified a bit due to public events in India. So, let us find out more about this amazing Cricket World Cup in a detailed manner.

All Eyes on 2023 Cricket World Cup, Cricket Fever Rising!

Hosting Rights of ODI World Cup 2023

India is going to host this year’s World Cup starting in October 2023.

The hosting rights are given a few years before the start of the mega event so that the host country can make necessary preparations regarding the infrastructure and security issues.

Besides this, the host country being the host has an advantage in that it definitely plays the Cricket World Cup and ODI Super League rules do not apply to it.

Format of the Upcoming World Cup 2023

There will be 10 teams in the upcoming tournament, and its format will be exactly the same as that of the 2019 World Cup.

The event will first have a round-robin stage, during which every team will play against each other once. Then the knockout stage will come where the top four teams will qualify for the Semi-Finals.

The number one team on the points table will play with the 4th ranked team while the Number 2 and Number 3 position teams will play in the semi-final. The winners will qualify for the Final.

Qualifiers for ODI World Cup 2023

The 2023 Cricket World Cup participants were decided by a sequence of cricket tournaments. The qualification process involved 32 countries, and only 10 teams made it to the World Cup.

The tournament will be held across ten different stadiums located in India.

Included in the list of ten teams are India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, and Afghanistan.

All Eyes on 2023 Cricket World Cup, Cricket Fever Rising!

Venues for the ODI World Cup 2023

The Indian Cricket Board announced the venues for the tournament. This mega event will be played across 10 different stadiums in the country.

There are renovation projects going on in differnet stadiums to provide ultimate experience to the players and fans.

For this purpose, the Indian Cricket Board is spending Millions of Dollars to host the event in World-Class stadiums.

The venues for the 2023 Cricket World Cup in India are described below:

Stadium Name



Narendra Modi Stadium



M.Chinnaswamy Stadium



M.A.Chidambaram Stadium



Arun Jaitley Stadium



HPAC Stadium



Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium



Eden Gardens



BRS ABV Ekana stadium



Wankhede Stadium



Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium



All Eyes on 2023 Cricket World Cup, Cricket Fever Rising!

Squad List for the Upcoming Mega Evet

The squad of all the teams for specific tournaments or series are fixed. Each team can select any 11 players for a cricket match from a 15 men's squad.

This squad may be changed if one or more players are injured and cannot play the next match. The management can do this when an injured player is out of the squad and a new player in the squad is added.

Broadcasters of 2023 Cricket World Cup

If we talk about the broadcasters of the World Cup 2023 in India the official broadcaster of the coming World Cup 2023 is Star Sports Network India and the people who are likely to watch cricket live matches over the globe ICC partnership with all TV channels of Star Sports Networks.

Ten Sports is also the paid partner of the ODI World Cup 2023 and people can watch all the live matches of new events of Cricket World Cup or other events of cricket.

All Eyes on 2023 Cricket World Cup, Cricket Fever Rising!

Previous champions of the ODI Cricket World Cups

India will host the 13th edition of the ODI Cricket World Cup 2023. This World Cup starts from 5 October to November 19 of this year 2023. England vs. New Zealand is the first match of the World Cup 2023.

If we talk about the previous champions of the ODI World Cups Australia is the most fortunate country of the tournaments because they won five ODI World Cups out of twelve editions.

On the other hand, India won two events of the ODI World Cup and the West Indies also achieved a couple of ODI World Cups.

Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England carried off one occasion of the World Cup.

All Eyes on 2023 Cricket World Cup, Cricket Fever Rising!





Year 1975

West Indies



Year 1979

West Indies



Year 1983




Year 1987



Pak and India

Year 1992



Australia and New Zealand

Year 1996

Sri Lanka


Pakistan and India

Year 1999




Year 2003



South Africa

Year 2007


Sri Lanka

West Indies

Year 2011


Sri Lanka

India and Bangladesh

Year 2015


New Zealand

Australia and New Zealand

Year 2019


New Zealand

England and Wales

Unfortunate Teams in ODI Cricket World Cups

Even the top and successful teams struggle to win the ODI World Cup. For Example, the New Zealand team has made it to the ODI finals two times. But they lost two consecutive times in 2015 and 2019.

This is a major disappointment for a team that many fans won't forget these defeats in finals anytime soon.

The same case is with the South African team, a consistently dangerous team that hasn't taken home a single ODI World Cup trophy in over 40 years, from 1975 to 2019.

Despite winning two titles in the ODI World Cup, the West Indies team will not be able to participate in the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

This is because of their poor performances in the ODI World Cup qualifiers held in Zimbabwe 2 months ago.

The New Zealand and South African teams have improved vastly since the previous World Cup, and are currently considered to be stronger than their competition.