Kabaddi Asia Cup, History, Format, Winners, Organizers


Kabaddi is an age-old sport that has its roots in India and is now widely popular throughout South Asia. It requires a combination of strength, agility, and strategy as it is a contact sport.

The objective of the Kabaddi Game:

The game's objective is for the raider to cross the opposing team's half of the court, tag as many defenders as possible, and return to their own half without being tackled. Kabaddi has gained immense popularity in recent years and has even been included in international competitions such as the Asian Games and World Cup. The Kabaddi Asia Cup stands out as one of the most prestigious Kabaddi tournaments in Asia.

History of the Kabaddi Asia Cup

Kabaddi Asia Cup, History, Format, Winners, Organizers

The history of this biennial tournament organized by the Asian Kabaddi Federation dates back to 1980 when its first edition was held in Kolkata, India. Since then, it has been held every two years except for certain unforeseen circumstances when it had to be postponed or canceled. 
Over time, this tournament has evolved into a platform for players from different countries to showcase their skills and compete at a high level while promoting Kabaddi both within Asia and beyond.

Men's and Women's Championships:

Both men's and women's teams participate in this tournament, with men's games being more competitive and popular amongst countries such as India, Pakistan, Iran, South Korea, and Japan vying for top honors. On the other hand, women's games have recently gained traction with India, Iran, and Pakistan fielding competitive teams in this championship event.

Kabaddi Asia Cup 2005:

Kabaddi Asia Cup, History, Format, Winners, Organizers

The 7th edition of the Asian Kabaddi Championship, also known as the Asia Cup 2005, took place from September 15th to 18th in Tehran, Iran. Six Asian countries, including India, Iran, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, and Pakistan sent their men's kabaddi teams to participate in the championship. The final match saw India emerge victorious over Pakistan to claim the gold medal while Iran secured the bronze medal.

Kabaddi Asia Cup 2017:

Fast forward to the Asia Cup 2017; the 8th edition of this tournament was held from November 22nd to 27th in Gorgan, Iran. This time around men's and women's kabaddi teams from twelve Asian countries participated including India, Pakistan, Iran, and Bangladesh. In an exciting final match between India and Pakistan for the men's competition gold medal; India emerged victorious while Iran secured third position and won a bronze medal.

Winner of Asia Cup 2017:

Kabaddi Asia Cup, History, Format, Winners, Organizers

India emerged victorious over Pakistan in the Asian Kabaddi Championship final, held in Gorgan, Iran. Ajay Thakur played a crucial role in India's win, showcasing his raiding skills to keep Pakistan at bay. Sandeep Narwal also put up a solid performance in the right corner position, canceling out any plans of attack from Pakistan's side.

At half-time, India had already established a commanding lead of 25-10 and continued to dominate the game until the end with Pardeep Narwal and Maninder Singh also contributing useful raid points.

The final score was 36-22 in favor of India.

Players' Performance in the group stages of Asia Cup:

This win comes after India's resounding victory over Pakistan earlier in the group stages of the Kabaddi Asia Cup where they won by a margin of 44-18 with Thakur scoring 12 raid points and Maninder Singh chipping in with 11 points. In fact, out of their total score of 44 points, 30 came via raids which highlights their attacking approach. In their previous games, India had beaten Iraq (61-21), Japan (82-16), and Afghanistan (103-25) displaying their dominance throughout the tournament.

Overall, it was an impressive performance by Ranbir Singh Khokkar-coached side who exhibited experience and skill to clinch the championship title for Asia.

The tournament showcased high-quality performances from all participating teams demonstrating the growing popularity and skill level of kabaddi in Asia. It also served as a platform for players to showcase their talents on an international stage which helped popularize this sport in the region.

Past Champions of Asia Cup:

India has been the most successful team in the history of the Kabaddi Asia Cup, winning the tournament several times. Other teams that have won the championship include Iran, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and South Korea.

Kabaddi Asia Cup, History, Format, Winners, Organizers

Here is a list of the past champions of the Kabaddi Asia Cup:

Year Host Country Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
1980 Kolkata, India India Bangladesh Nepal
1988 Jaipur, India India Bangladesh N/A
2000 Colombo, Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka Pakistan
2001 Bangkok, Thailand India N/A N/A
2002 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia India Japan Iran
2003 Kangar, Malaysia India Malaysia Sri Lanka
2005 Tehran, Iran India Pakistan Iran
2017 Gorgan, Iran India Pakistan Iran, South Korea

The Kabaddi Asia Cup is a highly competitive tournament that showcases some of the best Kabaddi players in Asia. The championship has a long history and has played an important role in promoting the sport of Kabaddi in the region